Welcome to Kenya Institute for the Blind   Click to listen highlighted text! Welcome to Kenya Institute for the Blind

Educational Resources

The key mandate of the department

This department was established to provide quality and affordable Braille teaching/learning materials such as curriculum text boDSC_0490oks for primary, secondary and tertiary institutions, leisure reading materials and publications for the government of Kenya ministries and other organizations so that Persons with Visual Impairments can enjoy liberties guaranteed to all Kenyans by the country’s constitution.

Thus the functions of the department are:

  • Transcribe print materials into Braille
  • Produce reading materials into audio and other alternative formats
  • Adapt and produce illustrations, diagrams and maps( photo of the embosser)

The department has served the following clients among others

1. Thika Primary School for the Blind
2. Thika High School for the Blind
3. St. Lucy School for the Blind
4. Turkana Integrated Programme
5. St. Oda Primary School
6. Hauser Special Secondary School
7. Ahero Girls Secondary School
8. Kibos School for the Blind
9. St. Lucy’s School for Blind
10. Likoni School for the Blind
11. Kibos School for the Blind
12. Kagundo D.E.B School
13. St. Francis School for the Blind
14. Kajiado Boys Boarding
15. Nakuru High School
16. Ngaiie Special School for Mentally Handicapped
17. Lubinu Primary School (Mumias)
18. Sega Girls Secondary School
19. Ndagani Primary School
20. Nyamachaki Primary School
21. AIC Girls Primary School (Kajiado)
22. Kericho Integrated Programme
23. Kilimani Integrated Programme
24. Ewandeche Integrated Programme
25. Maralal D.E.B Primary School
26. Maralal High School
27. Marsabit Integrated Programme
28. Nyandarua High school
29. Ministry of Education
30. Machakos Technical Institute for the Blind
31. Asumbi Teachers Training College
32. Government of Kenya Ministries
33. Kenya Institute of Special Education (KISE)
34. Kenya Society for the Blind


35. Africa Nazarene University
36. The National Fund for the Disabled of Kenya (NFDK)
37. Giraffe Center
38. Ministry of Youth Affairs
39. Nairobi City Council
40. National Assembly
41. Teachers Service Commission
42. National Council of Persons with Disabilities (NCPWD)
43. Bomas of Kenya
44. Kenya Tourism Board
45. Kenya Urban Roads Authority
46. Ministry of Devolution and Planning
47. National Irrigation Board
48. National Gender & Equality Commission (NGEC)
49. Insurance Regulatory Authority (IRA)
50. Ministry of Nairobi Metropolitan Development
51. Kenya Ports Authority
52. Orange Democratic Movement (ODM)
53. National Authority for the Campaign Against Drug Abuse (NACADA)

Skip to content Click to listen highlighted text!